Trip Lee to Release New Album, “The Waiting Room,” on December 9; Cover, Tracklist Revealed (Video)


Rejoice hip-hop fans: Trip Lee is back. The longtime Reach Records veteran officially announced his anticipated mixtape The Waiting Room after teasing it for the past month on social media. This announcement comes on the heels of the debut single “Too Cold” last week.

The official pre-order for The Waiting Room is live through Reach Records, and on the album’s official page they provide some background on the album: “Throughout the 10 songs that make up The Waiting Room, Trip wrestles with joy and pain, life and death, and the realities of our current social and political climate. Since Rise, violence, injustice, and heightened levels of civil unrest have captivated our national consciousness. The example of the church, Trip argues, is needed now more than ever before. ‘We have to step up and meet people where they are. That’s how you create change.’

The Waiting Room is Trip at his most self-actualized. It probes and prods; it’s fun; there is measured tension. It’s an artist operating at the height of his gift. Start to finish, the project has a soulful air–moody synths and chords and interesting key changes–that match Trip’s intensity and crisp delivery. His skill as an MC shines bright as ever, and once again proves his standing as one of the best doing it today. ‘It’s been awhile since I put some new music out,’ Trip says. ‘This one is special and will hold people over until the next album. Rawness, real emotion, and a fresh perspective. Here’s The Waiting Room.’

Fans don’t have to wait long to hear new music: The Waiting Room is set to release in just three weeks on December 9th. Anyone who pre-orders the album will be granted a free download of “Too Cold” to tide them over until the full release. Until then, be sure to stay tuned to Trip Lee’s Facebook and Twitter for all the latest updates.

Official Track List:
01. Clouds
02. Too Cold
03. Lord Have Mercy
04. IDK
05. Ready ft. Dimitri McDowell
06. Still Unashamed ft. Tedashii
07. Money Up
08. Out My Way
09. Longer ft. India Shawn
10. Billion Years ft. Taylor Hill


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.