Musician Kevin Kelley Gets Jazzed for the Holiday Season With ‘A Soulful Christmas’ Album Release


Kevin Kelley is one of the nation’s most versatile and sought after professional drummers and musical directors.  The St. Louis, MO native has played with Yolanda Adams, Tony Bennett, Shirley Murdock, Erykah Badu, Ramsey Lewis, The Temptations and so many more across Jazz, Gospel, Pop and Latin music.  After performing and recording with and for a countless number of artists, Kevin is releasing his own album of 10 best-loved holiday tunes.  Kevin and his band of fellow musicians recorded A SOULFUL CHRISTMAS which will be available Friday, November 24 on iTunes, Amazon and Google Play.

A SOULFUL CHRISTMAS is a vibrant collection of holiday music ideal for Jazz fans and fans of soulfully and intricately orchestrated Sacred music.  On the album, Kevin and his band jazzed the classic hymn “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen” and offer up the funk on “Hark The Harold Angels Sing”.

“Everyone that played with me on this album is very close to me and it was such a great experience,” Kevin explains.  “My biological brother is Kyle Kelley.  Tony, Lawrence and Keith are like brothers to me – we have a genuine brotherhood shared through music and shared in life!”
Kevin’s brotherhood of musicians includes:  Kyle Kelley, Tony Simmons, Lawrence “Larry” Johnson and Keith Fowler.  The comradery among these gentlemen is felt on every song.  Their love for music and bond in beat exudes on the high energy big band track “I’m Dreaming Of A White Christmas”.
“We are all musicians from St. Louis and have played together for so many years,” says Kevin.  “But sadly, Tony passed away and this album is my last recorded memory with him.”
Kevin is known for his extraordinary musical talents on drums and for his exemplary aptitude in production and sound engineering.  Utilizing his gifts, Kevin skillfully produced and captured the essence of the Christmas spirit on A SOULFUL CHRISTMAS.  A diverse audience of music fans can cherish this collection of songs year after year.
“I really enjoy Christmas music and love to express it in many forms of musicality,” Kevin expresses.  “It warms my heart to share Christmas with my family.  It’s a special time for all people to come together and to celebrate our Savior’s birth. I hope this album adds a cheerful and blessed atmosphere to the many celebrations, dinners and gatherings throughout this holiday season.”
A SOULFUL CHRISTMAS is the first of many forthcoming albums and special projects on Kevin’s indie label K2Music and music publishing company KellBell Music Publishing.
1.   I’m Dreaming Of A White Christmas
2.   Deck The Halls (featuring Keith Fowler)
3.   I’ll Be Home For Christmas (featuring Lawrence “Larry” Johnson)
4.   God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
5.   Jesus, Oh What A Wonderful Child (featuring Tony Simmons)
6.   O Come, O Come Emmanuel
7.   Hark, The Harold Angels Sing
8.   Winter Wonderland (featuring Kyle E. Kelley)
9.   Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow!
10. Auld Lang Syne

Follow: @KevinKelley2 – Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

SOURCE: The Bellamy Group

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *